Cannabis

Forms and Methods of Cannabis Use

Cannabis comes in different forms, which will determine how the substance is used.

Cannabis can come in the form of dried or powdered plant parts. The substance can be processed and come in a form called cannabis extracts. Dried cannabis and cannabis extracts can be incorporated into foods, beverages, creams or lotions and then come in the form of edible products or topical products.

This list of forms of cannabis is not exhaustive and may be updated, since the forms are continually evolving, as are the methods of use.

Dried cannabis

The flowers, leaves and stems of the cannabis plant can be dried or powdered. The flowers are the part that is mainly used to produce dried cannabis. The flower is also the main part that is of interest to producers and users alike.

Dried cannabis can be rolled and smoked like a cigarette, called a joint, or smoked using a pipe or a bong. Powdered cannabis can be put into a desktop or portable vaporizer to be heated and inhaled in the form of a vapour. Dried cannabis is most often inhaled as smoke or aerosol.

Dried cannabis can also be used as an ingredient in a recipe. So, some people will cook it or extract the components they want and use it in other ways.

Cannabis extracts

Extracts are a form of cannabis that are often called “concentrates”. However, while a cannabis concentrate is always an extract, not all extracts are concentrates.

Cannabis extracts are obtained by subjecting the substance to an extraction process with a solvent (chemical extraction with butane, propane, etc.) or without a solvent (physical extraction by pressure, heat, etc.). The solid or liquid appearance of the extract will depend on the extraction technique used.

Cannabis extracts are products that are generally inhaled or ingested.

Examples of cannabis extracts that are inhaled include:

  • kief;
  • hashish;
  • bubble hash;
  • shatter;
  • BHO (butane hash oil);
  • rosin;
  • budder, badder;
  • crumble;
  • distillate.

Examples of cannabis extracts that are ingested include:

  • oils;
  • tinctures;
  • patches.

Cannabis extracts can be inhaled or ingested directly in their pure form or be diluted using oils (e.g., olive oil, coconut oil) or diluents (e.g., glycerine). Solid cannabis extracts can be mixed with the dried flower or added to food.

Liquid cannabis extracts can be added to a food product too. They can also be swallowed in the form of capsules, be absorbed by the mucous membranes when placed under the tongue (sublingual use) or absorbed orally, in the form of drops (using a spray or a dropper).

Both the solid and liquid forms of extracts can be taken by dabbing or by vaporizing the pure product. The term “vaping” is sometimes used to encompass both dabbing and vaporizing. But vaping refers to a liquid extract of cannabinoids to which a diluent agent has been added, such as glycerol, propylene glycol or plant glycerine. This liquid is then vaped using a disposable vape pen or a cartridge inserted into a portable battery.

Edible cannabis products

Cannabis edibles are solid or liquid foods that contain cannabis. They are ingested.

Examples of solid foods that may contain cannabis include:

  • jujubes;
  • brownies;
  • muffins;
  • chocolates.

Examples of liquid foods that may contain cannabis include:

  • sparkling water;
  • infused water;
  • malt drinks;
  • teas.

Topical cannabis products

Cannabis topicals are normally applied to the skin, nails or hair for a generally local effect. Effects on cognitive functioning can, however, occur if agents have been added to the product to allow it to pass through the skin into the bloodstream and make its way to the brain. Topicals must not be ingested.

Examples of cannabis topicals include:

  • lotion;
  • cream;
  • balm;
  • bath salts;
  • patch.

Last update: February 21, 2020 3:50 PM

Le cannabis

Formes du cannabis et méthodes de consommation

Le cannabis se présente sous différentes formes, lesquelles vont déterminer comment la substance sera consommée.

Le cannabis peut se présenter sous sa forme végétale séchée ou moulue. La substance peut être transformée et se présenter sous une forme appelée extraits de cannabis. Le cannabis séché et les extraits de cannabis peuvent être intégrés à des aliments, à des boissons, à des crèmes ou à des lotions et se présenter alors sous la forme de produits comestibles ou de produits à usage topique.

Cette liste des formes du cannabis n’est pas exhaustive et peut faire l’objet de mises à jour puisque les formes évoluent continuellement, tout comme les méthodes de consommation.

Cannabis séché

Les fleurs, feuilles et tiges du cannabis peuvent être séchées ou moulues. Ce sont les fleurs qui sont majoritairement utilisées pour produire du cannabis séché. D’ailleurs, la fleur est l’élément principal qui intéresse autant les producteurs que les consommateurs.

Le cannabis séché peut être roulé et fumé comme une cigarette, appelée joint, ou être fumé à l’aide d’une pipe ou d’un bong. Lorsque moulu, le cannabis peut être introduit dans un vaporisateur stationnaire ou portatif pour être chauffé et inhalé sous forme d’aérosol. Le cannabis séché est consommé le plus souvent par inhalation de fumée ou d’aérosol.

Le cannabis séché peut aussi servir d’ingrédient à une recette. Certaines personnes vont donc le cuisiner ou encore en extraire les composantes d’intérêt en vue d’autres utilisations.

Extraits de cannabis

Les extraits sont une forme de cannabis souvent appelés des produits « concentrés ». Cependant, si un produit de cannabis concentré est toujours un extrait, ce ne sont pas tous les extraits qui sont des produits concentrés.

Les extraits de cannabis sont obtenus après avoir soumis la substance à un processus d’extraction avec solvant (extraction chimique avec butane, propane, etc.) ou sans solvant (extraction physique par la pression, la chaleur, etc.). L’apparence solide ou liquide de l’extrait va dépendre de la technique d’extraction utilisée.

Les extraits de cannabis sont des produits qui généralement sont inhalés ou ingérés.

Voici des exemples d’extraits de cannabis consommés par inhalation :

  • kief;
  • haschisch;
  • bubble hash;
  • shatter;
  • BHO (Butane Hash Oil);
  • rosin;
  • budder, badder;
  • crumble;
  • distillat.

Voici des exemples d’extraits de cannabis consommés par ingestion :

  • huiles;
  • teintures;
  • timbres.

Les extraits de cannabis peuvent être inhalés ou ingérés directement sous leur forme pure ou être dilués à l’aide d’huiles (ex. : huile d’olive, huile de noix de coco) ou de diluants (ex. : glycérine). Les extraits de cannabis solides peuvent être mélangés à la fleur séchée ou introduits dans un aliment.

Les extraits de cannabis liquides peuvent aussi être introduits dans un produit alimentaire. Ils peuvent par ailleurs être avalés sous la forme de capsules, être absorbés par les muqueuses lorsque placés sous la langue (consommation sublinguale) ou être absorbés par voie orale, sous forme de gouttes (à l’aide d’un atomiseur ou d’un compte-gouttes).

Les deux formes d’extraits, solide et liquide, peuvent être consommées par tamponnage (dabbing) ou par vaporisation du produit pur. Le terme vapotage est parfois employé pour englober le tamponnage et la vaporisation. Mais le vapotage fait plutôt appel à un extrait liquide de cannabinoïdes auquel a été ajouté un agent diluant, tel que le glycérol, le propylène glycol ou la glycérine végétale. Ce liquide est alors vapoté à l’aide d’un vape pen jetable ou d’une cartouche à installer sur une batterie portative.

Produits de cannabis comestibles

Les produits de cannabis comestibles sont des aliments solides ou liquides qui contiennent du cannabis. Ils sont consommés par ingestion.

Voici des exemples d’aliments solides pouvant contenir du cannabis :

  • jujubes;
  • brownies;
  • muffins;
  • chocolats.

Voici des exemples d’aliments liquides pouvant contenir du cannabis :

  • eaux pétillantes;
  • eaux infusées;
  • boissons au malt;
  • thés.

Produits de cannabis pour usage topique

Les produits de cannabis pour usage topique sont normalement appliqués sur la peau, les ongles ou les cheveux, pour un effet généralement local. Des effets sur les fonctions cognitives peuvent toutefois survenir si des agents ont été ajoutés au produit pour permettre à celui-ci de traverser la peau jusqu’au sang et atteindre le cerveau. Les produits pour usage topique ne doivent pas être ingérés.

Voici des exemples de produits de cannabis pour usage topique :

  • lotion;
  • crème;
  • baume;
  • sel de bain;
  • timbre.

Dernière mise à jour : 30 janvier 2020, 15:02